Social Science Research at Oxford

The Division is a world-leading centre for research in the social sciences. It is an environment in which innovative ideas and excellent research activities flourish. Our research is characterised by a wide range of methodologies, themes and disciplines and we encourage multi-disciplinary research. Our research involves contributions both to the academic study of the social sciences and to public policy. Some of our research is showcased in the research section of the main University website.

Research in the Social Sciences Division attracts funding from a wide range of sources. In the academic year 2011-12, the Division's research grant awards totalled £40,023,137. Social sciences at Oxford was ranked very highly in the Research Assessment Exercise 2008. Please see the University website for more information about Oxford's success in RAE 2008.

Divisional Research Team

The overarching role of the research team is, through providing professional administrative and management advice, to engage with divisional research strategy and research policy and practice in departments, and to facilitate research developments and initiatives that seek to underpin divisional research objectives.

The Research Team comprises:

 

Sam Sneddon: Assistant Registrar (Research) (sam.sneddon@socsci.ox.ac.uk) advice on divisional research strategy and wider engagement, including oversight of REF preparations, relationships with funders, research facilitation, and support for knowledge exchange and impact.

Sharron Pleydell-Pearce: Research Facilitator (sharron.pleydell-pearce@socsci.ox.ac.uk) Research facilitation for funding applications; research workshops and briefings, as well as taking a strategic lead on Open Access, H2020, and the Wellcome ISSF.

Esther Byrom: Research Support Officer (esther.byrom@socsci.ox.ac.uk) - Divisional REF officer, as well as leading support for the John Fell Fund (fellfund@socsci.ox.ac.uk).

Aileen Marshall-Brown: KE Facilitator (aileen.marshall-brown@socsci.ox.ac.uk) providing facilitation support and advice for a range of knowledge exchange and impact activities, to colleagues across the Social Sciences Division.

Alan Elliott: Knowledge Exchange Support Assistant (alan.elliott@socsci.ox.ac.uk) provides administrative support on a range of KE and impact activities, including a series of KE schemes, across the Social Sciences Division.

 

The Research Team's key priorities are:

Research information for members of SSD departments (link to Oxford-only area)