Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

call for applications and procedures

 Applications are now invited for the 2018 Recognition of Distinction Exercise to confer the title of professor:


Social Sciences Division Recognition of Distinction Committee (2018 exercise)


Professor Sarah Whatmore

Head of Division (chair)

Professor Christopher Adam

Department of International Development

Professor Jo-Anne Baird

Department of Education

Professor Anne Davies

Faculty of Law

Professor Bernhard Ebbinghaus

Department of Social Policy and Intervention

Professor Louise Fawcett

Department of Politics and International Relations

Professor David Gellner

School of Anthropology and Museum Ethnography

Professor Peter Kemp

Blavatnik School of Government

Professor Julia Lee-Thorp

School of Archaeology

Professor Helen Margetts

Oxford Internet Institute

Professor Melinda Mills

Department of Sociology

Professor Rachel Murphy

School of Interdisciplinary Area Studies

Professor Margaret Stevens

Department of Economics

Professor Peter Tufano

Saїd Business School

Professor Heather Viles

School of Geography and the Environment

Professor Ash Amin

Department of Geography

University of Cambridge


Professor Sir Ian Diamond

University of Aberdeen


Professor Dame Hazel Genn

Faculty of Laws



Professor Ben Lockwood

Department of Economics

University of Warwick