Teaching Awards 2019-20

The 2020 Divisional Teaching Excellence Awards

Celebrating the high quality of teaching in the Social Sciences Division is incredibly important. One of the ways to do this in the  Social Sciences Division is through a teaching excellence recognition scheme each year. Since the last Divisional Teaching Excellence Awards we have seen a dramatic change in the way teaching has been conducted not only in Social Sciences, but across the world. Whilst announcing the awardees for this year, the Divisional office also acknowledges the tremendous amount of work that was done by many people in order to deliver online learning in Trinity Term, and the work that is still being done for Michaelmas Term. We thank everyone involved for their hard work and continued effort.

The Social Sciences Division's scheme formally recognises the outstanding contribution to teaching and learning and the academic development of students shown by colleagues across the Division. The scheme has two strands: (i) unfunded Teaching Excellence Awards recognising an exceptional contribution to education by colleagues at any career-stage; (ii) funded Teaching Development and Enhancement Project (TDEP) grants for projects focussed on enhancing the learning experience for students at all levels. 

Professor Sarah Whatmore, Head of the Division said of the achievement:

Every year I look forward to reading about the inspiring projects and the great work undertaken across the Division. These awards demonstrate the dedication our colleagues at all career stages have to enhancing the academic experience for students. I congratulate all who have been awarded.

The 2020 Teaching Excellence Award winners: 

Early Career Stream 

Dr Bronwyn Tarr (Anthropology)

Dr Eileen Tipoe (Economics)

Individual Award for Excellence 

Dr Ivan Manokha (ODID)

Professor Viktor Mayer-Schönberger (OII)

Outstanding Achievement Award 

Dr Lorraine Wild (Geography)


The 2020 TDEP awardees:

TDEP round 1 (confirmed in January) 

  • Interdisciplinarity Within and Beyond Development Studies (Dr Geoff Goodwin, ODID) 
  • Summer Institute in Computational Social Science (SICSS), Oxford 2020 (Dr Ridhi Kashyap and Dr Charles Rahal, Sociology) 
  • Oxford Genomics for Social Scientists Summer School 2020 (Prof Melinda Mills, Sociology)

TDEP round 2 (confirmed in July) 

  • Consolidating code: Building accessible digital social science resources (Dr Bernie Hogan, OII)
  • Digitising and Innovating Postgraduate Teaching Amidst COVID-19: the development of an Oxford-Africa course, Decolonising Research Methods (Dr Amber Murrey/ Dr Steve Puttick, SOGE/Education) 
  • Expanding Digital Methods Training for the Social Sciences (Dr William Kelly, Anthropology) 


The Division will be announcing the schedule for the 2020/21 unfunded TEA and funded TDEP schemes in Michaelmas term 2020. All members of staff with teaching responsibilities are invited to submit an application to either strand, and applications are judged by the Division’s Quality Assurance Committee.