Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Eighteen members of staff from the Social Sciences Division have received awards in recognition of their excellent teaching in November 2014. The certificates were presented by Professor Andrew Hamilton, Vice-Chancellor of Oxford University, at a ceremony in Rhodes House on Monday 24 November.

Excellent teaching in the social sciences division John Cairns Photography
Teaching Award Ceremony 2014

Launched in 2006, the Oxford University Teaching Awards recognise different ways of engaging students and helping them learn, from creating new courses and delivering exceptional lectures and demonstrations to the innovative use of audio and video podcasts.

From the Social Sciences Division the following received awards:

Dr Sergi Pardos-Prado of the Politics and International Relations Department was recognised for his teaching style and depth of interaction with students, including reviving a PPE reading group, introducing PPE talks at his college and conducting two study-skills sessions for freshers.

Dr Neil Carrier, School of Interdisciplinary Area Studies – African Studies Centre, was recognised for his outstanding contribution to teaching, including conceiving, designing and teaching an innovative new option course on the MSc programme. This new course has brought language instruction to the MSc for the first time, and has received particularly positive feedback from students.

Dr Evelyn Ersanilli, Department of International Development, was recognised for her outstanding and innovative contribution to teaching, including transforming the teaching of research methods on the MSc in Migration Studies through creative thinking, attention to detail and turning methods learning into multi-dimensional experiences.

Dr Daniel Caro, Department of Education, was awarded a grant to support a project: Bayesian statistics and analysis of international large-scale assessment data in the R environment. The project consists of a four-day workshop on the analysis of international large-scale assessment (LSA) data under the Bayesian framework in the R open-source statistical environment. It is conceived as a pilot for a teaching module on ‘Advanced research methods for the analysis of international assessment data’ in the Doctoral Training Centre. Through applied examples with PISA, TIMSS and PIRLS data, the workshop will demonstrate the Bayesian perspective and how it provides a powerful alternative to the frequentist perspective.

Dr Inge Daniels and Dr Elizabeth Ewart, Institute of Social and Cultural Anthropology, were awarded a grant to support their project: Collaborative teaching: incorporating web-based resources and technologies. This project seeks to explore the potential and benefits of collaborative teaching and to develop web-based learning resources to enhance and significantly improve the delivery of the MSc/MPhil in Social Anthropology. Building on initial experiences over the past four years of collaborative teaching and supervision on the MSc/MPhil in Social Anthropology, the project proposes to enhance the approach further by developing web-based teaching and learning resources to support teaching, expand the intellectual content and add to the students’ educational experience on the degree.

Dr Cathryn Costello, International Development and Law, was awarded a grant to support a project: Five course enhancements for International Human Rights And Refugee Law. This project will fund five enhancements for International Human Rights and Refugee Law on the MSc in Refugee and Forced Migration Studies: development of a primer on public international law; preparation of a course pack of comparative caselaw; research support for course materials and supporting small group teaching; preparing a guide to mooting and mooting assistance; and research assistance to develop a module on looking at refugee status determination from the inside.

OxTalent Awards

Every year, IT Services runs a competition to identify innovative and effective uses of IT in teaching and in the support of learning and teaching. The achievements of OxTALENT winners are recognised within the University's Teaching Awards Scheme.

Dr Stuart White, Dr Scot Peterson, Mr Blake Ewing, Ms Katharine Brooks, Mr Chris Prosser, Ms Kate Candy, Ms Liz Greenhalgh, from the Department of Politics and International Relations, all part of the Politics in Spires blog editorial team, won OxTALENT's Open Practices award with their workshop Academic Blogging: Political Analysis in the Digital Age.

Professor Sandra Fredman and Ms Laura Hilly, Faculty of Law, won OxTALENT's Use of Technology for Outreach and Engagement award for their Oxford Human Rights Hub blog.

And a special mention for Mr Ian Chilvers, Social Science Library, who won an OxTALENT award for the use of WebLearn for Learning Support & Outreach to Students for his development of the Social Sciences Library eReadings Service.

 OUSU Student-led Teaching Awards

A separate scheme, run by the Oxford University Student Union, rewarded 2 members of academic staff in the Social Sciences for innovation and excellence in teaching. The winners were nominated by students.

Outstanding Tutor: Dr Natalie Quinn, Department of Economics

Most acclaimed lecturer: Dr Rebecca Eynon, Oxford Internet Institute