Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Members of the Social Sciences Division have been recognised in the New Year's Honours list for 2017.

New years honours 2017 Tejvan Pettinge

Image: Oxford in mist, Tejvan PettingerCC By 2.0

Professor Colin Mayer, Peter Moores Professor of Management Studies and Professorial Fellow of Wadham College, is appointed CBE for services to business education and the administration of justice in the economic sphere. Professor Mayer was the first professor at the Saïd Business School and is an expert on all aspects of corporate finance, governance and taxation, the regulation of financial institutions, and the role of the corporation in contemporary society. He is also an Honorary Fellow of Oriel College and St Anne's College. Professor Mayer said: 'It's a huge honour and I'm extremely grateful. The business school has been very successful and I'm tremendously proud of it.'

Professor John Furlong, Emeritus Professor of Education and Emeritus Fellow of Green Templeton College, is appointed OBE for services to research in education and government. A former Director of Oxford's Department of Education and a former President of the British Educational Research Association, Professor Furlong is a member of research groups encompassing learning and new technologies, teacher education, and professional learning.

Story courtesy of the University of Oxford News Office.