Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The Secretary General of the UN, Ban Ki-Moon, has appointed Professor Xiaolan Fu to the Governing Council of the Technology Bank for the Least Developed Countries.

Professor fu

The Technology Bank was established to help 48 of the world's poorest countries to increase their scientific and technological capacities. The Governing Council will provide support to the Secretary-General in undertaking the necessary steps towards the operationalization of the Technology Bank; It will formulate principles and policies governing the activities and operations of the Technology Bank, including preparing its Charter for consideration and adoption by the General Assembly.

Professor Fu is the Director of the Technology and Management for Development Centre and Professor of Technology and International Development. She also leads several British Research Council funded projects, including a £600,000 project on the Diffusion of Innovation in Low-Income Countries.

Professor Fu said: “I am honoured to be part of this high-level Governing Council of the Technology Bank.  I am pleased that my research has been recognised and been able to contribute to changes for a better world. Technology and innovation are important measures for the achievement of the 2030 Agenda of global Sustainable Development Goals. The Technology Bank will play a key role in facilitating technology transfer and local capabilities building in the Least Developed Countries. I look forward to working with distinguished colleagues on the development of the Technology Bank.”

Professor Mohamed H.A. Hassan (Sudan), President of the InterAcademy Partnership (IAP) and former Chairman of the Council of the United Nations University will serve as Chair of the Governing Council. Mr. Gyan Chandra Acharya (Nepal), Under Secretary-General and High Representative of the Least Developed Countries, Landlocked Developing Countries and Small Island Developing States will be the Secretary-General’s representative in the Council, serving as vice-chair. His Excellency Mr. Abdoulaye Yero Balde, Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research of Guinea and Professor Zakri Abdul Hamid, Science Adviser to the Prime Minister of Malaysia and member of the Secretary-General’s Scientific Advisory Board, will be part of the Governing Council.