Social scientists among early career Oxford academics to win £100,000 Philip Leverhulme prizes

Dr Teresa Bejan and Dr Janina Dill from the Department of Politics and International Relations are among six early career Oxford academics to have been awarded a Philip Leverhulme Prize in recognition of their outstanding research and exceptionally promising futures.

The £100,000 prizes will further each academic’s cutting-edge research — in historical political thought, and international law and war respectively.

Associate Professor of Political Theory Dr Teresa Bejan will use her prize to support her editing of the two-volume Clarendon edition of John Locke’s Letters on Toleration, while John G Winant Associate Professor of US Foreign Policy Dr Janina Dill will use the prize to conduct research on the moral psychology of war.

Professor Timothy Power, Head of the Social Sciences Division, said, 'I’m delighted to congratulate Teresa and Janina on each being awarded this prestigious prize in recognition of their outstanding research to date and their exciting future potential. Their respective projects in historical political thought and the moral psychology of war are exemplars of the value that the social sciences can bring to bear on constructs that inform some of society's most complex challenges.'


Discover all the Philip Leverhulme Prize winners on