Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Academic Appointments (HR)

The team oversees the management of appointments to the grade of Associate Professor and the lifecycle of the post and employee thereafter. These are joint appointments where there is an association with a college.

Academic Office

Staff in the division’s Academic Office undertake educational quality assurance work in conjunction with departments, faculties, and the central university, and provide dedicated graduate studies assistance to a number of the division’s units.

Communications

Communications play a vital role in disseminating the activities and achievements of Oxford social sciences to external audiences and bringing together the social sciences departments at Oxford University, creating opportunities for researchers to collaborate, inform academics about exciting new projects and support the administrative functions across the division.

Development

The Social Sciences Development Team’s purpose is to fundraise for professorships, scholarships and capital projects within the Social Sciences Division. The team, which is based in the Divisional office at Hayes House, would love to hear about the projects that you are seeking funding for.

Finance

The Divisional Finance Team works closely with departmental colleagues to ensure the sound financial management of the Division and its departments.

Governance

The Head of Division, Professor Roger Goodman, chairs Divisional Board, plays a key role in the University’s overall governance, and is a member of the University’s Council. The Divisional Secretary heads the divisional administration and works closely with the Head of Division.

Health and Safety

The University has a responsibility for your health, safety, and welfare while you are lawfully on University premises and business. Members of the University have a responsibility to comply with university policies and procedures. Responsibilities are set out in the University policy on H&S management responsibilities. The University Safety Office contains more information on a wide range of H&S matters including a list of University Safety Policies and training courses.

Research and Impact

The Research and Impact Team supports divisional research strategy and research policy and practice in departments, facilitates research and impact initiatives and provides professional administrative and management advice in support of divisional priorities.

Strategic Planning and Projects

We coordinate activity across the division, and provide support to departments, in connection with all the major planning processes. We also provide support for strategic project work, including work towards the submission of applications to the Athena SWAN Charter, which has been recently expanded to include social sciences departments (the deadlines for which are November and April each year).

Fleur Adolphe
Fleur Adolphe

Divisional Communications Manager
fleur.adolphe@socsci.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 614877

Tanya Baldwin
Tanya Baldwin

Assistant Registrar (Strategic Planning & Projects)
tanya.baldwin@socsci.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 614860

Hannah Cowley
Hannah Cowley

HR Business Partner (Social Sciences)
hannah.cowley@admin.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 289923

Lesley Darcy
Lesley Darcy

Graduate Studies Coordinator
lesley.darcy@socsci.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 614863

Donna Elliott
Donna Elliott

HR Business Partner (Social Sciences)
donna.elliott@admin.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 614869

Emma Fitz-Gibbon
Emma Fitz-Gibbon

Admin/Receptionist
emma.fitz-gibbon@tss.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 614891

Sophie Fowler
Sophie Fowler

Quality Assurance Officer
sophie.fowler@socsci.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 614859

Andy Garlick
Andy Garlick

Assistant Registrar (Education)
andy.garlick@socsci.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 614875

Karina George
Karina George

Graduate Training Coordinator
karina.george@socsci.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 614876

Sarah Goad
Sarah Goad

Divisional FInance Manager
sarah.goad@admin.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 614865

Melanie Goodchild
Melanie Goodchild

Graduate Studies Assistant
melanie.goodchild@socsci.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 614862

Jane Gover
Jane Gover

Senior Assistant Registrar (Education)
jane.gover@socsci.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 614864

Fiona Groenhout
Fiona Groenhout

Planning & Projects Manager
fiona.groenhout@socsci.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 614874

Rachel Kirwan
Rachel Kirwan

Senior Development Executive
rachel.kirwan@devoff.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 611554

Margaret  Koval
Margaret Koval

Head of Development - Social Sciences
margaret.koval@devoff.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 611557

Claudia Kozeny-Pelling
Claudia Kozeny-Pelling

Social Sciences & Humanities Inter-Divisional Research Ethics Committee
ethics@socsci.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 616578

Sarah Lay
Sarah Lay

Development Assistant
sarah.lay@devoff.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 611599

Professor Mark Pollard
Professor Mark Pollard

Associate Head of Division (Research)
mark.pollard@arch.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 285228

Aileen Marshall-Brown
Aileen Marshall-Brown

Research Impact Facilitator
aileen.marshall-brown@socsci.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 614881

Dr Paul Martin
Dr Paul Martin

Associate Head of Division (Education)
paul.martin@politics.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 285987

Elena Mikhaleva
Elena Mikhaleva

HR Assistant
elena.mikhaleva@socsci.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 614854

Harry Myring
Harry Myring

Divisional Financial Controller
harry.myring@admin.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 614867

Karen O'Brien
Karen O'Brien

EA to the Head of the Division, EA to the Divisional Secretary and Office Administrator
ea@socsci.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 (6)14851

Sarah Oliver
Sarah Oliver

Team Leader (Social Sciences)
sarah.oliver@admin.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 289961

Dr Catherine Paxton
Dr Catherine Paxton

Divisional Secretary
catherine.paxton@socsci.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 614852

Heather Phillips
Heather Phillips

Deputy Administrator (Academic Appointments and HR)
heather.phillips@socsci.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 614857

Sharron Pleydell-Pearce
Sharron Pleydell-Pearce

Senior Divisional Research Facilitator
sharron.pleydell-pearce@socsci.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 614882

Rakiba Rahman
Rakiba Rahman

Divisional Finance Manager
rakiba.rahman@admin.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 614860

Francesca Richards
Francesca Richards

Research Impact Officer
francesca.richards@socsci.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 614873

Professor Roger Goodman
Professor Roger Goodman

Head of Social Sciences Division
roger.goodman@socsci.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 614853

Armando Román Zozaya
Armando Román Zozaya

Divisional Research Facilitator
armando.romanzozaya@socsci.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 614872

Divya Rowan
Divya Rowan

Administrator (Academic Appointments and HR)
divya.rowan@socsci.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 614856

Peter Sheppard
Peter Sheppard

Departmental Finance Manager
peter.sheppard@admin.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 614879

Mary  Smith
Mary Smith

Senior Graduate Studies Assistant
mary.smith@socsci.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 614861

Sam Sneddon
Sam Sneddon

Assistant Registrar (Research)
sam.sneddon@socsci.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 614871

Jonathan Webb
Jonathan Webb

Finance Officer
jonathan.webb@socsci.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 614868

Chris Williams
Chris Williams

Divisional Safety Officer
chris.williams@socsci.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 614878

Emily Winstanley
Emily Winstanley

Senior Development Executive
emily.winstanley@devoff.ox.ac.uk
+44 (0)1865 611517