Cookies on this website
This website uses cookies. We use cookies to distinguish you from other users and to improve and monitor the website. A cookie is a small file of letters or numbers that we place on your device, if you agree. For more information please see our cookie statement by following the 'Find out more' link.

We are the Social Sciences Division responsible for providing a broad strategic focus across its constituent disciplines. We represent the largest grouping of social scientists in the UK, and possibly in the world. We are home to a number of outstanding departments and schools, and to the internationally-leading Faculty of Law.

Our Research and Teaching

At Oxford University, social scientists are committed to developing a greater understanding of all aspects of society through research and teaching; from the impact of political, legal and economic systems on social and economic welfare to human rights and security. All our schools and departments explore new areas at the cutting-edge of discovery, with a commitment to remaining at the forefront of research and teaching.

Divisional Services

The Divisional Office supports academics and researchers, as well as the administrative functions in departments in the areas of educational provision, academic policy and quality assurance, on-course graduate administration,  research support, planning and resource allocation, capital and space planning, and the administration of academic appointments.

Where we are

Our departments are located throughout Oxford, on Park End Street, at the Radcliffe Observatory Quarter, in the science area and around the Manor Road hub. If you are looking to visit a particular department, you can find them on the University’s map, or by visiting the department’s website.

The Divisional Office is located at:
Hayes House
75 George Street
Oxford OX1 2BQ

Contact us

Contact the Divisional Office for more information: 

Telephone: +44 (0)1865 614850
Fax: +44 (0)1865 614855